Archive for October, 2009

Guest appearance on Donal Dineen’s Fresh Air Festival, Today FM, Thursday 26th November

Saturday, October 31st, 2009

I’m delighted to be a guest on Donal Dineen’s radio show on Today FM as part of his Fresh Air Festival running throughout November.

The show was aired on Thursday 26th November, 12 – 2am.

Jimmy Behan interview with Donal Dineen | Today FM by jimmy_behan

“Fresh Air is a free music festival that will be transmitted directly into your ears via The Small Hours on Today FM. Donal Dineen has chosen his pick of the best new Irish sound makers to take part in a month-long celebration of great new music, live on your radio.
For the month of November, Donal will have a invited guest act live on air for The Small Hours to play live, chat to Donal and play a selection of their own favourite tunes, effectively curating the show for the night.
The Small Hours is on Today FM from midnight – 2am and the shows are archived for a week right here. We’ve plans to do something special and longer lasting with the archive of the Fresh Air shows, but stay tuned for more on that.” (from
Donal’s Small Hours show on Today FM.

Relay: A Dialogue Between Sound Artists at this year’s D.E.A.F.

Thursday, October 15th, 2009

The Relay: A Dialogue Between Sound Artists collaborative netaudio project will feature as an installation at this year’s D.E.A.F.

“Relay has existed online since early 2008 and will have its first physical existence for DEAF09 as an installation at FilmBase. There are 8 Relay works so far, from Chequerboard, Jimmy Behan, Loscil, Hulk, Polly Fibre, Pierre Bastien, Bibio and Sunken Foal. Each piece will have it’s own listening station so the listener can move from one response to the next, following the threads of the conversation.”

Duration: Oct 22nd – 31st, 11am – 8pm daily
Venue: Filmbase, Curved Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2
Admission: Free

Launch night: Thursday Oct 29th : 6pm – 9pm
Live performances from Polly Fibre & Hulk. Admission 5 euro

Relay at DEAF09
Relay website
DEAF09 website

Through The Trees featured on D.E.A.F. 2009 double CD

Wednesday, October 14th, 2009

The folks at the Dublin Electronic Arts Festival have put together a double CD compilation of Irish artists to help promote the festival which runs from Thursday 22nd to Saturday 31st October and hosts an excellent line-up of international and Irish acts. The compilation features the track Through The Trees from The Echo Garden album. Each or all tracks can be streamed or downloaded for free here.

“Dublin’s more experimental club nights have undoubtedly struggled somewhat in recent years, there’s been a notable increase in the quality of the productions emerging from the studios of Irish producers. Thus for 2009, in association with Culture Ireland we’ve put together another 40-track double CD intended to showcase the best in new electronic music from Irish artists. We had over 400 submissions again this year from artists all over the country, the final selection includes new music from :

Sunken Foal, Seán Óg, Enda Bates, Legion Of Two, Rainfear, Ed Devane, Channel One, Teshi-1, Rachel O’Dwyer, Peter Maybury, Roger Doyle, Herv, David Baxter, Concerned Parasites ubh Korka Gweena, Liam O’Callaghan, Melodica Deathship, Harry Moore, Quiet Music Ensemble, Orestis Karamanlis, Jay riordan, Monica, Frózi, General Practice, Locus Solus, The Natural History Museum, Jimmy Behan, Kim V Porcelli, HMS Reliant, Spoon Theory, Spectac, Toymonger, Somadrone, Chip Shop Music, Acera, Chequerboard, The Last Sound, Cárthach Ó Nuanáin, Zelloloid, St. Catherine’s Home for Lazy Infants and Toby Kaar.

The CD will be distributed free at the press launch for the festival in September 2009, it will also be handed out free of charge at select D.E.A.F. events over the course of this years festival.
We’ll also be promoting it to the Irish and international press as part of our marketing campaign for this year’s festival. The CD will also be used by Culture Ireland to promote Irish Electronic music overseas.” (from

Listen/free download.

October Sun Mix for Fluid Radio

Monday, October 12th, 2009

Jimmy Behan – October Sun by Fluid Radio on Mixcloud

Download (192mp3 / 79Mb)

00:00 Street

00:21 Isnaj Dui – Mushroom Picking
Unstable Equilibrium (Home Normal)

04:30 Bibio – Hedged In
from Relay: A Dialogue Between Sound Artists net-project

13:45 Gallery

15:06 Sylvie Walder & Entia Non – Des Espaces Sans Nom
Bewilderment (Resting Bell)

20:35 Pantaleimon – The Sun Came Out (Dawn Porous) Colin Potter Remix
Heart Of The Sun (Durtro)

25:04 Segue – Blue Wind II
Into The Fall (Slow Flow Rec)

31:17 Mariska Baars, Robert Deters & Rutger Zuydervelt – Gris Gris 2
Gris Gris (Low Point)

40:35 Black Eagle Child – Invented Lives
Seeds That Sprout In Summer (Stunned Records)

45:13 Stephen Spera – Troubled Dreams Of Beauty
4{H2O} (Parvoart Recordings)

50:55 Michael Santos – Alphaville
forthcoming on Home Normal

Mixed by Jimmy Behan for Fluid Radio | October 2009.
© With artists and labels. All tracks used with permission.